Review of Destined by Rubina Ramesh

destined

Blurb:  Esha Mehra could have taken care of her father, only if she had some support from her fiancé. But he had his priorities set and her sick father was nothing but a burden. Esha didn’t have any other choice but to apply for a loan from her office. But she had not banked on the fact that the Head of Geno Technologies needed her for other reasons.

When Rohan Sharma saw Esha for the first time, he felt she was the one. He had no intention of falling in love with her for the pain of the past was still too much to bear. But he did need Esha as a decoy to his plan. But Esha was not a damsel in distress who would bend to his will easily. While he was sure that he would marry her only for six months, he still couldn’t understand why he felt a searing jealousy every time, her ex-fiancé Ayush’s name was mentioned.

While these two souls had other plans in their lives, Destiny conspires to bring them together. But will the stench of Death let them live their lives?

My thoughts: Thanks to kindle unlimited I am getting to read lots of e-books nowadays for free. This helps me to explore lots of books without spending a penny. Being a fan of romantic stories, I am tend to explore the romance section of Kindle Unlimited most of the time.

In the case of this book I was lucky to be connected with author too and had this book as a gift. I would definitely say that it’s a beautiful Christmas gift.

Destined is a beautiful love story of Rohan and Esha. They belong to two totally opposite socio-economic backgrounds but when it comes to the nature, they are almost similar.  There are moments when they clash badly and Esha is reminded time and again by everyone that she sold herself to Rohan for money. If it hasn’t been for the love and admiration they share for each other, they wouldn’t have never patched up.

I love their quarrels and afterward making up. One thing I loved most in the book is that Esha is no damsel in distress. Though she had to take Rohan’s help to take care of her father but returns each and every penny back to him. It’s good to read the stories of characters who are strong, confident and holds to their pride.

The characters of the book were written very well and actually I liked it that there were not too many characters in the book. This way each and every character was given importance and were developed very well. The author had flawlessly brought all the characters alive and make them real. It was as if they could be easily part of our lives.

This book is a very simple story and you may say a bit typical story with two characters who don’t like each other much in beginning but eventually fall in love and live happily ever after.  But I really love this book because it takes a dig at our hypocrite society which believes that tough parents should take care of both daughters and sons but daughters should not take care of their parents after the marriage. Do our parents cease to be our parents, just because we got married to a guy? Aren’t we, daughters supposed to look after our parents?

JUST BECAUSE WE ARE DAUGHTERS, DO WE LOVE OUR PARENTS LESS?

One of the main reasons, I loved this book was because I went through a similar situation. My father was suffering from Stage IV cancer and his chances of survival were not much and doctors have given him very few years to live. Along with my mom, I was mainly responsible for taking care of him. My mom thought it would be better that if I marry a guy while my dad was alive. After lots of persuasion I finally agreed for an arranged match. But the moment guys would know about my dad’s illness and my main wish to stay in city and take care of him, they would just simply run away. The worst part was when one of guy who has refused the match earlier, asked to marry me again when my dad passed away. When my family asked him that why did he refuse earlier, he answered “If I would have married her earlier, she would not have focused on me and my family but now with her dad being out of picture, I am sure she would be a good match”

Thank you Rubina for writing about this hypocrisy of our society. It’s good to read a sweet romantic book with a strong message. I did find the ending to be abrupt, I was left with a feeling of longing when the book ended. I wished to read more about Rohan and Esha.

 

2 thoughts on “Review of Destined by Rubina Ramesh

Leave a comment